What foods do you buy for a spring detox diet?

Today was session one of the spring detox we are hosting at Retrofit Pilates and I feel refreshed and motivated after our invigorating “expressive dance pilates” workout with Ana. Thanks Ana!

I started my 10 day food elimination detox this morning when I rolled out of bed and drank some warm lemon water instead of coffee.  It is now around 4pm in the afternoon and I’m starting to get the “I need caffeine” headache and the “I just want something sweet” craving.  Your body can become dependent on these and other food substances so it may take a couple of days of feeling yucky before you start to feel amazing.  But that’s ok because I am prepared and I’m one step ahead of the cravings.  Here’s a look at my shopping list:

In addition to the above items I had these staple foods at home which you can purchase in bulk:

Almonds, almond butter, brazil nuts, sunflower seeds

Rice and almond milk. If you can’t find the original unsweetened kind then the sweetened vanilla flavour is fine.

Brown rice, a brown and wild rice mix, quinoa, rice pasta, rice porridge (like cream of wheat), rice crackers, rice cakes and lentils.

Garlic, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, Indian curry spice mix, paprika, sea salt, Italian seasoning spices.  All herbs and spices are acceptable. You’re going to need them to make your food less bland.

100% natural fruit juice (don’t go overboard with this, even though it is natural fruit sugars too much of it can negatively affect your blood sugar levels). A 1/2 cup of guava, pear or apple juice is enough to satisfy my sugar cravings.

I use honey to sweeten things like herbal tea but stevia is also good.

Why did I choose some of the foods on my shopping list?

Apples, pears, frozen berries: these are cheap and sweet so they can satisfy your sweet tooth.  You can eat them as a snack, blend them into a fruit smoothie, chop and add them to salad, boil them to the desired consistency with some lemon, honey and cinnamon for a snack, breakfast or to use as a spread for rice cakes.  Adding nuts and seeds to the boiled fruits adds protein and good fats to keep you feeling full for longer.

Broccoli, kale, cabbage: these are also relatively cheap and are all part of the Brassica family of vegetables.  Foods in this family contain phytochemicals which support liver cells in their detoxification process.  Their high amount of fibre also adds bulk to your stools making you more regular.  Cabbage can be made in so many different ways and seems to last a long time because whenever I buy one I can use it for two weeks (or until I’m sick of the cabbage flavour!)

Hummus and avocado: Hummus is a spread made from chickpeas and comes in a variety of flavours. You can dip raw vegetables or rice crackers into it for a snack. You can spread it on rice cakes or mix it into your brown rice and quinoa for added flavour. Avocados are great for salads. I also mash them with some olive oil, salt, lemon and garlic to make a guacamole spread for rice cakes or to mix with brown rice.  Hummus and avocado spreads are quick and easy to make and provide good protein and fats.

Tonight my plan is to prepare some meals for the week and tomorrow I will share some more `meal and snack ideas.

About drellensimonend
Dr. Simone strongly believes that the mind and body are connected to your overall health and wellness. As a primary health care provider, her practice provides ongoing support throughout your healing journey. Her role as your Naturopathic Doctor is to assist you in discovering your needs, support you in personal growth and help you reach your health and wellness goals. With the belief that happiness and balance is possible for everyone, Dr. Simone strives to help her patients live happy, healthy and fulfilling lives. Dr. Simone focuses on family wellness and has special interests in women and children’s health. She has experience with reproductive health, working with women through different phases in their lives; to regulate the menstrual cycle, ease PMS symptoms, optimize fertility, provide support during and after pregnancy, maintain breast health and welcome menopause. Children have also been a primary focus in Dr. Simone’s life in both her professional role as a naturopath and in her volunteer work. She believes that setting healthy habits at a young age can be critical for long-term health and wellness.

5 Responses to What foods do you buy for a spring detox diet?

  1. I love your updates, Ellen! I just started my new diet last week in hopes of bettering my training for my upcoming races. Sylvi came with me last Sunday (she biked while I ran) and after getting cramps just 25 min into my route, I decided I needed a change, fast. I laid off the coffee and tea, only drinking water with lemon and fresh juices, tried to be extra selective when it came to desserts (my weak spot) and lo and behold, I’ve been hitting PB’s all week! Just two days later, I ran a sub 26:00 which I’ve never done before! And just yesterday, my record for a 5k run is now 24:30!!! What a difference, who would’ve thunk it? 🙂

    • Hi Queenie, that’s amazing! I’m so glad to hear that a few simple changes made such a difference. Let me know if there’s anything else you’d like to read about…I was thinking of doing a little sports medicine cluster of blog posts on things like electrolyte solutions and other natural ways to help with recovery from a workout or injury prevention and treatment from a naturopathic perspective. I’d love to hear your ideas and stay tuned for more nutrition updates about my spring detox 🙂

      • That would be a great article, I eventually had to change my diet ’cause I couldn’t take side cramps anymore! I just needed suggestions on what types of foods I should be eating before/after rigorous exercises. For now, I figured out that one banana and a glass of water an hour before I start running seems to work. But not sure what other alternatives are if I get sick of bananas. And I haven’t experimented too much with what I should scarf down after a workout 🙂

      • Sure I can definitely write about some foods to eat pre and post workout to prevent cramps and assist in muscle recovery!

  2. Pingback: I decided to detox, now what do I eat? « Dr. Ellen Simone, ND

Leave a Reply

