When I grow up I want to be a doctor

—Hello, my name is Ellen Simone and I’d like to welcome you to my blog on natural medicine.  My new year’s resolution for 2011 was to start a blog so here goes…

I remember the first time anyone ever asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up.  It was in junior kindergarten and I was the only one who said I wanted to become a doctor to help others.  I know this because we had to decorate paper stick people in the profession of our choice and post them on the wall to display.  There were many ballerinas and police officers but mine was the only doctor.  I remember asking my teacher what a doctor looked like and she assisted me in making green scrubs, a white face mask and a stethoscope for my blank stick person.  This image is what I associate today with a surgeon who works in hospitals and performs operations to save lives.  In junior kindergarten, I believed this was the only kind of doctor that existed.  But as I grew up I learned that there are many types of doctors and healing professionals who have an impact on the health status of others.

Over my childhood years, my dreams of what I would be when I grew up changed significantly on a wide spectrum from professional figure skater to lawyer.  I remember when it was time to decide which university to attend and what program to enter.   At this point in my life I was leaning towards becoming a teacher as I had learned how rewarding teaching could be through my experience as a figure skating and swim instructor.  One day during this period my father came home from work with a brochure for the Doctor of Naturopathic Medicine program at the Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine.  I was instantly intrigued with the principles of naturopathic medicine and the idea that the body inherently knows how to heal itself.  The idea of using substances found in nature to enable healthy living and focus on the prevention of disease resonated with me more than the reactive medicine of today which seeks to solve a problem once it has arisen.  Thus, I chose to attend the University of Toronto’s Bachelor of Physical Health and Education program which would enable me to keep my options open for the future.  During my years at the University of Toronto I learned the importance of exercise, nutrition and stress management in preventing illness and maintaining a state of wellness.

In the end, as you have probably already figured out, I chose to attend the Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine and just over one year ago I started my exciting career as a naturopathic doctor.  After a year in the field and finding my groove in the overwhelming world of self-employment it is time to define a place for myself in the field of naturopathic medicine.  I’ve learned that a career in medicine is a process where learning and change is a constant and I intend for this blog to become a space where I can share my thoughts and inspirations as a doctor in the evolving field of natural medicine.

Links:

More info on my naturopathic practice: www.drellensimone.com

The Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine: www.ccnm.edu

University of Toronto Bachelor of Physical Education and Health: http://www.physical.utoronto.ca/

About drellensimonend
Dr. Simone strongly believes that the mind and body are connected to your overall health and wellness. As a primary health care provider, her practice provides ongoing support throughout your healing journey. Her role as your Naturopathic Doctor is to assist you in discovering your needs, support you in personal growth and help you reach your health and wellness goals. With the belief that happiness and balance is possible for everyone, Dr. Simone strives to help her patients live happy, healthy and fulfilling lives. Dr. Simone focuses on family wellness and has special interests in women and children’s health. She has experience with reproductive health, working with women through different phases in their lives; to regulate the menstrual cycle, ease PMS symptoms, optimize fertility, provide support during and after pregnancy, maintain breast health and welcome menopause. Children have also been a primary focus in Dr. Simone’s life in both her professional role as a naturopath and in her volunteer work. She believes that setting healthy habits at a young age can be critical for long-term health and wellness.

Leave a Reply

